The Story of How God Provided For Me (Again)

Really, this has always been a story about how God has provided for me, but I figure, as true as that title is, you might get bored seeing it for every post.

After realizing that I had no living arrangement for my time in London, we thought that I would probably have to return home with Andrew on Sunday. It seemed very unlikely that, so late in the game, we would find a place to stay that was 1) affordable, 2) not a scam, and 3) available right now and for exactly the amount of time I would need it. After such a harrowing ordeal the past couple days, I wasn’t even sure that I wanted to stay anymore.

Andrew and I celebrated our one year anniversary on Thursday by going to Oxford, and we figured it would be the best part of our trip together before we both went home on Sunday.

Oxford was amazing. It felt like we had never left. We went around to the Radcliffe Camera, the Bodleian Library, walked through Christ Church Meadow, and just wandered the High Street and Cornmarket. We had coffee at Coffee Republic, where Andrew and I used to hang out and have tea in the beginning of our friendship, and we met up with one of Andrew’s old tutors for tea at The Rose. We finished the day by sharing fish and chips at the Eagle and Child, renowned meeting place (or “watering hole”) of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkein, and the Inklings.  Also our favorite pub, where we had celebrated our birthdays together while we were at Oxford.

After such a wonderful day, we headed back to London. When we got there Milo and Leanne excitedly told me that they wanted to offer me one of their spare bedrooms! They said they didn’t want to let a couple bad experiences cheat me out of the amazing experience of working at a publishing company in London. I was (and am) still overwhelmed by their generosity. I accepted, and I am so thankful. I think it will be an even better situation than staying in an apartment by myself, like I had planned.

Andrew and I have spent the past couple days much more at ease, touring London, seeing the famous sites, and enjoying the company of friends. Friday we visited Anthem Press and talked to my boss, Tej. Apparently this internship is highly competitive, and if I went home there were 5 people waiting to take my place! Tej also said that most of the interns there go on to get jobs at major publishing companies, and, in fact, some of their staff had formerly been interns. I hadn’t realized how prestigious this internship was. But I’m not too intimidated by it. Tej seemed quite friendly and easy to work with. I’m sure it will be difficult, but I’m excited. I’m so thankful I am staying.

This morning I took Andrew to the airport, and I returned to Leanne and Milo’s house by myself. I already miss him terribly, but I feel so much better about staying now that I am staying with friends and am completely convinced that God is taking care of me. It is obvious that nothing is in my control. I have no idea what God has planned for me during this trip. It’s already so different than what I had envisioned.

I start work in the morning. And so, goodnight!

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “The Story of How God Provided For Me (Again)

  1. Auntie Barbara

    Ariel, What a blessing your friends have been and how wonderful to see God’s hand in your life so pronounced! You are loved much, missed by many, and wished nothing but the very best in all you do! I’d wish you luck for tomorrow – your first day at work – but, luck isn’t a part of it. It’s determination, faith, and prayer. You will be fine, and you will have a wonderful time in London.
    God bless – rather, continue to bless you!
    Our love….always!

  2. Andrew Price

    GREAT BLOG SO FAR SWEETIE! I AM SO HAPPY YOU WERE ABLE TO STAY AS WELL, IT DEFINITELY WAS A GOD THING! HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT FIRST DAY AT WORK TODAY! HAPPY VALENTINES DAY, LOVE YOU 🙂

Leave a Reply

